Chair for Public Health and Health Services Research

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


About us

The Chair of Public Health and Health Services Research was established at the Institute of Medical Informatics, Biometry and Epidemiology (IBE) on October 1, 2011. The Department looks back on a long history:

In 1950, the Institute of Medical Balneology and Climatology was established aiming to carry out research on natural remedies of soil and climate and their application to achieve a healing and / or preventive effect on people. In parallel, health resorts and authorities have continuously been advised, expert reports prepared, research projects conducted and medical doctors trained. In 2005, the department was renamed to the Institute of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences; the Research Unit for Biopsychosocial Health was established.

Prof. Eva Rehfuess (IBE) took over the head position on October 1, 2018, and her representative is Prof. Dr. Dr. Angela Schuh.

History of the directors:

1950 - 1952 Prof. Dr. G. Boehm
1952 - 1954 Med.Rat. Dr. K.W. Schnelle (acting director)
1954 - 1970 Prof. Dr. H. von Braunbehrens
1970 - 1973 Prof. Dr. J. Lissner
1973 - 1986 Prof. Dr. H. Drexel
1986 - 1996 Prof. Dr. E. Senn
1996 - 1999 Prof. Dr. Dr. J. Kleinschmidt (acting director)
1999 - 2009 Prof. Dr. G. Stucki
2009 - 2011 Prof. Dr. D. Nowak (acting director)
2011 - 2018 Prof. Dr. U. Mansmann (administrative management)
Since October 1st, 2018 Prof. Eva Rehfuess